What you (and I) need…

In Pastor Jeff’s continuing series, “It’s a Rescue Mission”, he talked yesterday about marriages. I thought it was a powerful message that really boiled down to one point.

The prelude to the message was a video in which Donnie and Teresa Dinges testified to God’s healing power in their marriage and the “rope of hope” that was extended to them by Pastor Jeff and Teri when they first came to Community Fellowship 13 or 14 years ago.

Teresa said over and over again that they could’ve taken the easy way out and just quit, but instead, they hung in there and worked hard on their marriage. They got the needed counselling and God did a work in them and in their marriage.

Pastor Jeff said something in his message that really hit home and really is where the rubber meets the road. First, he quoted this truth from God’s Word:

I will give them an undivided heart and put a new spirit in them; I will remove from them their heart of stone and give them a heart of flesh. (Ezekiel 11:19, NIV)

He went on to say, “You don’t need a new wife… you don’t need a new husband… what you need is a new heart…” and God can give you that new heart.

Many times, we don’t need a night for a “date night” (although that’s a good thing), we don’t need new communication skills (although that helps), we don’t need to give up our hobbies… what we need is a new heart toward our wife.

God’s promise is never-failing. He will give us a new heart if we’d just ask.

About Tim Harrison

Saved by grace and living my faith out in the unshakeable Kingdom of God.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to What you (and I) need…

  1. Jerry B says:

    Carolyn and I love the message yesterday.
    Jerry

  2. Heath Kimmell says:

    The other word I heard repeated time and time again by Pastor Jeff was WORK. I know when I get home from secular work the last thing I want to do is WORK at home in behalf of my wife and I’s relationship but that is exactly what a healthy relationship with my wife requires. Sure am glad to know that I am not the only one who has to WORK so hard. Lets go to WORK with a soft heart and a new spirit!

  3. Gary says:

    My Oh My how the Holy Sprit works! Sherry and I had a spat on Saturday (or should I rephrase that to say my harden heart wasn’t open to what she was saying.) and you and I know what Pastor Jeff’s message was about on Sunday. I subscribe to Tony Dungy’s All Pro Dad’s Play of the Day, which is a devotional along with suggestions, how to be a Godly Father and Husband. Today’s Play of the Day: 10 Creative Ways to Spend More Time with Your Wife!
    Yesterday, I heard Pastor Jeff say it takes WORK and today I read that the two most important lifeblood of any relationship is TIME and COMMUNICATION. So I seek you prayers as I begin to work on developing different ways to spend more time with Sherry and strengthen our marriage.

Leave a comment